Product Reviews

Extra Virgin Minerals™ Compact Foundation

Average Customer Rating:
3.681 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(91 Reviews) 84
65%would recommend to a friend
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Compact Foundation
Review 1 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Compact Foundation
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
captainpixie
Location:Somerset
look up the tutorials for this one.
Date:26 October 2014
I had a make-over at the Bodyshop and this foundation was used, I was unsure about it because it sat very heavy on my skin, but i bought it anyway and took it home where it sat in the mack-up bag.
I came across a tutorial on-line about this product and gave there advice a try and I have to say they were totally right.
it's about how you apply it. I don't feel it on my face at all. I have combined skin and haven't had a problem with this foundation at all. the only issue I have with it is touching up because i find it annoying but I were glasses so I have to constantly check and re-applie ANY foundation I use.
so my advice is to watch the tutorials and take there advice, follow there instruction's and have fun, also practice makes perfect and this is all coming from a novice! I'm 32 and only recently started to were make-up :)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Compact Foundation
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
mallowmarsh
Location:UK
Good for dry, not for oily skin
Date:06 October 2014
As a younger teenager, I absolutely loved this product - I wasn't into wearing much makeup, barely a swipe of this over my face was fine (I'd use my fingers to apply!). I had sensitive skin and would react to anything - I found that this foundation was very moisturising and had alright coverage but as I got older and went through the inevitable puberty thing, I found that my skin was getting oilier and oilier. The makeup would slide off of my face before I'd even left the house and I'd have this gross-looking foundation sitting in the corners of my mouth. Even with using powder to set the foundation, it was still sliding off my face and looking incredibly greasy. I found that it would enhance blemishes instead of concealing them and my pores looked huge. I recently switched to the All-In-One Face Base and am absolutely loving it! The Extra Virgin Minerals, however, is oil based - excellent for dry skin but a massive no no for oily/combination
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Compact Foundation
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
Joannelisa21
Location:North Yorkshire
Disappointing compact foundation
Date:15 August 2014
Very poor coverage and quite greasy. Sat in the creases around my eyes after a while.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Compact Foundation
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
superfox
Location:Dorset
Worst Foundation Ever
Date:14 July 2014
The only good thing I can say about this product is it did match my skin colour well as I have a slightly olive complexion. But like the other negative reviews I found this foundation too oily and didn't give a good coverage. The product sits in any creases and highlights any imperfections. It is very difficult to blend and just seems to slide around on your face and coverage does not last long, a few hours at the most.
I would not recommend this product.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Compact Foundation
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
MarieHiss
Location:Norwich
Good Moisturiser, Bad Foundation
Date:04 July 2014
I have very mixed feelings about this compact.
On the one hand my sensitive skin feels very comfortable wearing this and feels very soft when I remove it.
The shade range is also very good catering for people like myself who have more neutral/golden undertones as well as the cool toned pinks.
BUT, as a make up base it looks terrible. There's no getting around it, this stuff will cling to and highlight every wrinkle, spot, lump and bump.
Even my dry patches looked shiny wearing this and the pores on my cheeks seemed exaggerated to crater size!
I guess if you have very good skin (that rare and highly sought after type known in the beauty industry as "normal") to start with you might be okay with this, but if you have any of the usual issues, dryness, spots, wrinkles etc. then I'd advise giving this foundation a miss.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Compact Foundation
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
GwenP
Location:Hatfield, Herts
Not for Me
Date:29 May 2014
I was really looking forward to this as mineral make up is better for the skin and i thought it would give the coverage i need.
The compact is beautiful with a little mirror and brush inside for touch ups on the go, the brush is also a brilliant brush used it with one of my other foundations.
However, i couldn't get on with this, with the brush provided or one of my usual foundation brushes. The only way it looks semi alright is by applying my foundation in sections straight after my moisturiser. I have normal skin and it tends to look chalky and dried out, however i do think this would be ideal for someone with oily skin.
I will probably end up chucking it away which is hard to do as I'm a student and £16 is a lot for a foundation on my budget, as i can't get on with it.
But if you have oily skin i recommend you give it a go
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Passion Fruit Body Butter
5 out of 5(21)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Compact Foundation
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
soundasleepx
Location:South Yorkshire
Don't listen to the bad reviews!
Date:28 April 2014
This goes on really nicely, and the colour is a brilliant match.
I would assume people are getting patchy results because they're applying it in the wrong way, the best way to apply it is to use the brush that comes in the compact, but don't swipe it through the product - just lightly press the tip edge of the brush into it and sweep it over your face.
That way you can put on a small amount and see how you go, then of you want a heavier coverage then build up the layers!
I really love the finish this foundation gives and will definitely buy it again.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Compact Foundation
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
IzzieD
Location:London, UK
Worst Foundation I Have Ever Used!
Date:17 April 2014
This was the first foundation I had used, and having naturally oily/combination skin I found that this foundation was terrible. Firstly, it has an oil base which made my skin incredibly greasy. It claims that it gives a 'smooth, matte' finish - that is definitely not the case. The brush also sheds very quickly and is inconvenient for the application of foundation.
I also have very fair skin and despite using the lightest shade in the range, the foundation was far too dark.
All in all, for £16 there are MANY more foundations that are better than this one... I have used at least 10 foundations for half the price which have been much better than this one.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Compact Foundation
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
moomar75
Location:Wolverhampton
Worst foundation ever
Date:25 February 2014
Possibly the worst foundation I have ever used. Rubbish coverage and what stays on your face turns blotchy after a few hours. Greasy appearance and the brush leaves marks when you apply.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Compact Foundation
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orlie
Location:Borehamwood
Vanilla rose
Date:13 January 2014
I've been using this product for last year after trying the liquid, this didn't agree with me but the virgin mineral is wonderful, glides on easily, coverage is beautiful and suits my tone exactly when I initially assumed it was too dark, I have had many compliments about it. I also notice my skin looks better i do use serum but I think the olive oil in this is having some effect. So pleased I found this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Compact Foundation
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
Kazza94
Location:Bangor, Wales
Worst Purchase Ever
Date:12 January 2014
The extra virgin minerals foundation looks great for about an hour. After that, if you catch yourself in the mirror, you'll be in for a bad surprise! It ends up patchy, sticking to your pours, and generally looks a mess. I would not recommend this product, avoid unless you want to look about 20 years older.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Compact Foundation
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
HaylzP
Location:Essex
Not for anyone who has dry skin
Date:15 September 2013
Didn't really know how to rate this foundation. My skin is combination and this really didn't work for me.
While it glided on and looked amazing for the first 2 hours, later on during the day, my face looked awful! It really picks up on dry patches. I tried this for 4 days. I even applied more moisturiser and used a setting spray. Also exfoliated every single night. But it didn't help the problem! I was gutted as for once, i found a perfect colour match (i was the lightest)
I took it back to the store and i have been given the Moisture Foundation to try so fingers crossed that works.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Compact Foundation
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Puri
Location:Surrey
Beautiful!
Date:05 September 2013
This foundation just slides on my skin and very easy and quick to put on. It kind of blends in and does not look like you have make up on but gives your face a lovely dewy look. The brush that comes with it so soft and very handy.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Compact Foundation
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
lionsara
Location:Cambridge
My favourite
Date:18 August 2013
After many years of searching for a natural-looking foundation that stays on all day and can handle several applications without looking too pasty, this is by far the best one I have tried so far.
I wear the lightest shade on my pale Scandinavian skin, and it always looks great!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Compact Foundation
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
oldenuf2nobetter
Location:Plymouth
Always complimented!
Date:17 July 2013
I wear this every day and am always complimented how good it looks - a lovely dewy finish but not shiny. Its quick to apply - I prefer to use a sponge rather than the brush provided. It evens out my complexion without being too thick and I would definitely recommend. I also use a little creamy blush on cheek bones, applying this with my sponge.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Compact Foundation
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
daffodilgirl
Location:London
Virgin Minerals Powder
Date:17 July 2013
Always does exactly what it says on the tin!
Lasts throughout day, covers all sorts of blemishes and lines, but without being heavy.
Reccomend.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Compact Foundation
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
muguetdesbois
Location:westminster
makes life easier
Date:19 June 2013
useful for when I am pressed for time and available in a pale shade
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Compact Foundation
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
SallyAnna
Location:Northamptonshire
Not impressed :(
Date:25 May 2013
Thought this would be ideal for my handbag for use on the go. I have very fair skin so chose the lightest shade (which is usually fine with most brands) however this would be too light for Casper!! It is difficult to apply with the brush, it is streaky with brush marks, so ended up using my fingertips. I also found it to be too oily and I have quite dry skin so this Is something I usually welcome from a foundation, but not this one. It's a shame as I'm such a body shop lover - I am going to try something else now, looking at trying the all-in-one face base next.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Compact Foundation
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amanda25904
Location:Waltham Abbey
fantastic
Date:16 May 2013
I know everyone is entitled to their opinion but some of the comment are slightly unfair. I read the reviews but still bought it. I have always struggled to find a foundation suitable for my very oily skin which covered well and stayed on. I have now found it. I read the reviews about the brush so I applied mine with a sponge instead. It works amazingly. No streaks. Matte shine free skin all day with excellent cover. Perfect. The brush may not be a good idea with a solid/cream foundation but the product is good. I urge everyone to try it was a sponge and see the difference. Great value when you get it on the discount they always offer (£\% offer or 3for2).
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Compact Foundation
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
Whirlygirl1
Location:Surrey
Not suitable for combination skin
Date:18 April 2013
Unfortunately this is no good with combination skin. This made my skin even shinier. The brush included leaves streaky marks and you are better off using one of the Body shop kabuki brushes for this purpose. Returned it to my local store.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>